Lovestruck!!!

19 Sep

It’s easy to recall with amazingly accurate detail, what she wore the first time i beheld her

I’ve always laughed at the term “Love at first sight”

Even scorned some friends saying “You have failed at your quest in  becoming a player”

But I must admit, they were very right

Her beauty alone

Melted my heart of stone

For the very first time, I was dumbfounded

My brain just stopped processing entirely

Right there and then, I knew I was gone

This beauty had me well grounded

It felt like time stood still completely

When she turned and i saw her beauty

In its entirety

From that moment onward, all I saw was her

Everything else in comparison was duller

She became the color in an otherwise dull view

 

Her curves perfectly accentuated by a blue jeans trouser

Pencil-mouthed, ending into black, obviously new designer shoes

A striped shirt that hugged her so well, I hoped to best it

With a cream-colored necklace to complement it

Her face looked too good to be true

It was just without blemish

To give her a name other than Goddess would be cruel

Her hazel eyes compelling me to make a wish

That I could one day look deep into them

And see into the crux of her very being

A nose that fits almost perfectly on her face

Her luscious lips that were faintly touched with gloss

Shining as she spoke

A chin that was just broad for her face to sit on

Yet so exquisitely shaped, it looked sculpted

She would effortlessly outshine a work of art

She was just too beautiful, beauty full

 

Just when I thought to stop gawking

Towards me she started walking

My heart nearly flew off my chest

Thumping far louder than the drums being played

I willed my face to look away

But it was as if it had developed a mind of its own

When our eyes met

My heart literally and figuratively stopped

Everything started happening in slow motion

Like the Bollywood movies

I wanted to sing

Though I had no lyrics

A song of Love

A song of Pain

A song of Hope

A song of  Joy

A song to soothe the ache I felt deep down

 

Then she spoke to me

And I must have zoned out completely

Her voice so soft, and sweet i felt diabetic

So melodiously natural

Her smile revealing a set of teeth perfectly formed

A pair of dimples that made me wish for mine

Cause they fit her so nicely

Coming out in time as if palnned

It wasn’t until she touched me that i realized

I haven”t answered her yet

She was asking if i was a first timer in church

But her touch felt so right

Her skin soft like a new born

Velvety like fresh clothing

I quickly recovered and answered smiling brilliantly back

“No, I’m not”

But  feeling a little stupid

Cause my description from a distance was so wrong

She surpassed it too well

That if Angels could be jealous and jealousy could kill

She’ll be dead over and over again

Perfectly formed face

A sweet figure eight

She doesn’t belong in this world

She belongs in a temple

Where she’ll be worshipped

 

Gone is the guy who thought “Love Sucked”

But here is a man who fell head over heels in Love

At first sight

2 Responses to “Lovestruck!!!”

  1. awizii September 19, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Er….hi. Is this your first time writing poetry? To be honest a lot of parts looked kind of disjointed, hard to say if you intended this to be free verse or you wanted a rhyming scheme. It didn’t do it for me in parts e.g:

    “My heart literally and figuratively stopped” Like, come on son!

    “Her curves perfectly accentuated by a blue jeans trouser” Surely you mean a pair of trousers?

    If you’re going to make your poem long, make sure all the parts are connected, as one verse to another, or at least make every verse complete, and if you’re writing free verse, let it flow, have a theme, and try to make use of figures of speech that send the necessary message.

    Go through work of people online, there’s a lot of good stuff out there…..and hey, we’re all learning too! Try to find what you’re comfortable with and practise.

    That said, it was a decent effort, but improvement is key. 🙂

  2. phurlabby December 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    couldn’t agree more…but the poem is gud but u could have arranged it better tho….nice 1 Tolu (loverboy)

Leave a Reply

Ramblings

My thoughts

Ramblings of the Newt

There are many voices. They speak to me and I hear them. These are their words.

The Controvert!

MIND OVER MATTER: A schizophrenic's point of view...

hardehyi

My Sanity is in the passenger seat

Yellow Igbo Girl

You Know You Love Me...YellowIgboGirl

Zubairthedream's Blog

The Window To The Future

1of6billion

backyard tourist

toluoke

Where Imagination meets Creativity

Damstylee

We Think | We Write | He Inspires

Tomboxe

Random ramblings of an often overpraised underdelivering writer...

femmedossier

Just another WordPress.com site

alterspeaksout

everyone has these thoughts, i just voice them....

adesoji Minkail's Blog

The Diabolical Blogger

Useful Information About Nothing

I Still Think This Is A Waste Of Your Time

liesensetowrite

A fine WordPress.com site

Jeremiah's Scribbles

Checking Out The Inside From The Outside

Orifunke Lawal

I write, You read, We connect.

myheadmythoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

IF3OLUWA

I used to be normal, but then, things changed...

