Tribute

26 Aug

She struck me as a very proud person. It seemed to me like she was unnecessarily haughty. Maybe it’s because she was beautiful in every sense of the word, maybe it’s because she had all the characteristics of the ‘Perfect Girl’. I carried on this wrong notion about her being proud until I got to know her personally. Just like a lot of the girls in our university, she only ‘rolled’ with her ‘home girls,’ sharing snide comments, laughter and hushed conversations amongst one another.

We were members of the same singing group, she sings Alto while I sing Tenor. During rehearsals, we were arranged such that Alto singers and Tenor singers were sitting side by side, and as fate would have it I was sitting very close to her that evening. We started talking amidst singing and jesting about each other’s errors in the parts we sang. By the time rehearsals was over, we walked down to our halls together enjoying the company of each other. Though we were worlds apart, she was so down to earth with me, trading banters with me until we had to depart for our separate halls lest we got embarrassed by the security personnel stationed around school.

That evening with her though short-lived sparked a fire in my heart to cherish our friendship forever. I could boldly wave at her anywhere in school or out of school without the fear of being shunned. Though I couldn’t summon the courage to ask her to hang out with me on a normal school night, I grew to cherish the one hour thirty minutes we would spend together at rehearsals.

The first tempest that rocked our ‘friend-ship’ was when we had to minister in a church outside school, we were supposed to come out in full but only twelve of us showed up. We had earlier decided to put on white shirts on black skirts/trousers so we were all looking very ‘choirly’, she was putting on a long sleeve white shirt with a skirt that firmly hugged her bum. Her shoes were what led to our first spat, she had on a lovely pair of purple ‘your feet look gorgeous’ shoes, that really stood out. We were sitting in a semi-circle outside the hall where we would minister, so I was facing her directly. Instead of passing a comment about her shoes, I made an unconscious decision that would cloud our friendship for almost a year; I brought out my phone and took a picture of her legs + shoes.

That action cost me a whole year’s worth of friendship with a very wonderful person, because she thought I was taking an entirely different picture. Though it wasn’t until much later I found out from a mutual friend why she was pissed at me, I was devastated that I could lose such a friend because of such a trivial issue.

In her final semester, we ‘made up’ and our friendship continued though it wasn’t as close as it was earlier, we managed to remain close pals until we parted ways.

I was at a church youth program in Benin city, a few days to the end when I received the phone call

‘Tolu is it true?’

‘Is what true?’ I answered, excusing myself from my friends for some privacy

His voice shook as he replied ‘I heard Dolu is dead….’

‘w-w-which Dolu? I stammered back,

‘Same Dolu now, ‘philly’ Dolu’ he continued

By this time, my heart was beating faster than ever,

‘When, How, what happened?’ I prompted, trying to hold back the sobs in my throat

‘Today, I heard she was sick and I’ve been calling her sister but I can’t get through, I just wanted to be sure’ he replied.

‘I’ll get back to you, let me try to reach some friends too’ I answered and disconnected the call.

‘God pls, not Dolu’ I prayed in my mind as I walked towards one of the vendors selling recharge cards nearby. Just as I loaded my phone, I received a notification for a direct message from twitter and on opening it, I saw it was another school mate wondering if I’ve heard the news and checking for its authenticity. I started to reply, but it was rudely confirmed when I saw a tweet by another friend saying R.I.P to her.

I held on to the wall for support as my legs nearly gave way under me. The heavens seemed to join in my despair because suddenly it started to rain. I didn’t  mind the downpour, tears poured down my cheeks as I stood right there looking up to the heavens and wondering why? Why? Why? I lost track of time, oblivious to how I got back to the hostel.

It’s been a year now and I really miss her lovely smile, her cheerful countenance, the loving warmth of her embrace, how down-to-earth she was.

R.I.P Abe Adurodolu

 

 

10 Responses to “Tribute”

  1. BimbyZ August 26, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Touching. 😥 Didn’t know her personally, though i saw her a couple of times. May her soul rest in perfect peace.

  2. wakiki August 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    So Sad….Rip Dolu

  3. Random. August 26, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    RIP 😦

  4. thecrazyyouth August 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Beautiful read!
    R.I.P to her.

  5. owgee August 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    God bless her soul. I still wonder why many people think fine girls are proud. Well written.

  6. KattyMcPretty August 28, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Pretty sad… Life rily is 2 short, need 2 cease evry moment we hv wt dose we luv, cus we neva knw hw long we hv dem 4…

  7. adesewar October 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    I love her name. . . “Adurodolu”. May she rest in peace. Amen.

    • teekellz October 10, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      Amen

  8. Ayoolu Abe June 11, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    Awwww Tolu, cudnt get maself 2 read dis until now, may she Rest in Perfect Peace

    • teekellz June 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      Amen ooo…… Brings back memories……

Leave a Reply

Ramblings

My thoughts

Ramblings of the Newt

There are many voices. They speak to me and I hear them. These are their words.

The Controvert!

MIND OVER MATTER: A schizophrenic's point of view...

hardehyi

My Sanity is in the passenger seat

Yellow Igbo Girl

You Know You Love Me...YellowIgboGirl

Zubairthedream's Blog

The Window To The Future

1of6billion

backyard tourist

toluoke

Where Imagination meets Creativity

Damstylee

We Think | We Write | He Inspires

Tomboxe

Random ramblings of an often overpraised underdelivering writer...

femmedossier

Just another WordPress.com site

alterspeaksout

everyone has these thoughts, i just voice them....

adesoji Minkail's Blog

The Diabolical Blogger

Useful Information About Nothing

I Still Think This Is A Waste Of Your Time

liesensetowrite

A fine WordPress.com site

Jeremiah's Scribbles

Checking Out The Inside From The Outside

Orifunke Lawal

I write, You read, We connect.

myheadmythoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

IF3OLUWA

I used to be normal, but then, things changed...

